School of Medicine: Graduate Medical Education Research Symposium

Creighton Graduate Medical Education held their second annual Research Symposium on Feb. 4, 2022 under the directorship of Kalyana Nandipati, MD.

The Symposium highlighted several outstanding research activities which were conducted by house staff who were already engaged with being at the front lines of fighting the pandemic. Being able to dedicate effort to improving medicine during these challenging times is a marked demonstration of how residents and fellows work to improve the human condition. It also highlights the contribution of GME (Graduate Medical Education) research towards the mission of Creighton University and Common Spirit. There were a total of thirty oral presentations and two poster presentations. Congratulations to the 2022 GME Research award winners.

Faculty researcher of the year was awarded to Saurabh Chandan, MD, Department of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology.

  1. Research Innovation award – Dr. Haggerty, Department of OBGYN. The Effects of 3D Printed Models and 3D Printed Pictures on Maternal and Paternal -Fetal Attachment, Anxiety, and Depression: A Randomized Control Trial. 
  2. Outstanding Research project – Dr. Wittenberg, Department of Medicine/Pulmonary and Critical Care.  A retrospective analysis of the effects of TIME on Compliance and Driving pressures in acute respiratory distress syndrome: The TIMED study.
  3.  Best research project – Dr. Jackson, Department of Medicine/Pulmonary and Critical Care.  Procalcitonin As a Predictor of Clinical Outcomes in Patients with COVID-19.
  4.  Research resident recognition award – Dr. Ismayl, Department of Medicine/Internal Medicine.  Aortic Valve Replacement Versus Conservative Treatment in Asymptomatic Severe Aortic Stenosis: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.
  5.  Best research project for health care diversity – Dr. Mo Alam, Department of Medicine/Internal Medicine.  Two Withdrawals During Colonoscopy are Better than One in Lynch Syndrome: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.

We want to give special thanks to faculty moderators, Nicholas Dietz, MD, Robert Plambeck, MD, Devi Krishnamurty, MD,  and Rajani Rangray, MD.

About Creighton Today